Call for Papers


10th EUNICE Open European Summer School


EUNICE 2004: Advances in fixed and mobile networks


Tampere, Finland,   June 14 - 16, 2004


Tampere University of Technology (TUT)

Download Call for Papers in pdf or in text format



The EUNICE network ( has been created to foster the mobility of students, faculty members and research scientists working in the field of information and communication technologies and to promote educational and research cooperation between its member institutions. The main goal of the EUNICE Summer School is to give researchers and particularly Ph.D. students the opportunity to present their work at an international level.


In addition to the research paper presentations, a number of tutorials or invited talks, presented by experts in the field, will be given.


Call for Contributions

Researchers and Ph.D. students from institutes affiliated with the EUNICE network and from the member institutes of E-NEXT Network of Excellence are especially invited to contribute. EUNICE Summer School is open to other researchers as well. Topics include, but are not limited to


Mobile and Wireless Networking

End-to-End Quality of Service

Ad-Hoc Networks and Sensor Networks

Congestion Control

Pervasive Computing

Performance Evaluation and Measurement

3G/WLAN Internetworking

IPv6 Experiments and Transition Techniques

Radio Network Planning and Optimisation

Network Traffic Characterisation

Positioning in WCDMA Networks

Network Management

Service Discovery and Location Awareness

Network Security

Peer-to-Peer and Overlay Networks

Multimedia Services and Teleservices

Cross-Layer Network Design

Adaptive Applications and Architectures

IPv4/IPv6 Multicast and Datacast

Middleware for mobile computing


Authors are invited to submit original papers, which will be reviewed by the program committee members. All accepted papers will be presented in the sessions of the Summer School, and camera-ready versions will be published in the conference proceedings (a book with ISBN number). Papers should be written in English and not exceed eight single-spaced A4 pages, 10-point Times New Roman style, 2 columns. The cover page should include name, affiliation, complete postal address and e-mail-address of all authors.


EUNICE or E-NEXT member institutes are cordially invited to present tutorials (approx. 50 minutes) at the Summer School. Prospective tutorial speakers are kindly asked to submit proposals covering one or more of the technical areas indicated above. The tutorial proposals should include a brief outline and the speaker's full postal address, phone and fax numbers and e-mail-address.


Submission Instructions


Only electronic submissions will be accepted; the format should be PDF or Postscript (PS). Electronic submissions should be sent to:

The PDF or PS document must be attached to the e-mail. Please direct your questions to the program chair, Jarmo Harju, or Bilhanan Silverajan,


Important Dates

§         Submission Deadline:                February 16, 2004

§         Notification of Acceptance:        April 7, 2004

§         Final Paper due:                         May 5, 2004

§         Early Registration Deadline:      May 7, 2004



The conference will take place in the campus of Tampere University of Technology, located in Hervanta, some 8 kilometers from the city center of Tampere.


Technical Program Committee

Jarmo Harju, Tampere University of Technology, Finland (Chair)


Finn Arve Aagesen, University of Trondheim, Norway

Arturo Azcorra, University Carlos III of Madrid, Spain

Rolv Braek, University of Trondheim, Norway

Tibor Cinkler, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Irek Defee,  Tampere University of Technology, Finland

Carlos Delgado Kloos, University Carlos III of Madrid, Spain

Jörg Eberspächer, Technical University of Munich, Germany

Olivier Festor, Universite Henri Poincare - Nancy, France

Edit Halász, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Tamas Henk, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Sandor Imre, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Petri Jarske, Nokia Mobile Phones, Finland

Yvon Kermarrec, ENST Bretagne, France

Paul Kühn, University of Stuttgart, Germany

David Larrabeiti, University Carlos III of Madrid, Spain

Jukka Lempiäinen,  Tampere University of Technology, Finland

Pekka Loula, Tampere University of Technology, Finland

Olli Martikainen, University of Oulu, Finland

Jean-Philippe Martin-Flatin, CERN, Switzerland 

Sándor Molnár, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Maurizio Munafo, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Joao Orvalho, University of Coimbra, Portugal

Zdzislaw Papir, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland

Jari Porras, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Finland 

Aiko Pras, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Andras Racz, Ericsson Research, Hungary

Markku Renfors, Tampere University of Technology, Finland  

Lionel Sacks, University College London, United Kingdom

Jorge Sá Silva, University of Coimbra, Portugal

Sebastiŕ Sallent, Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain

Dimitrios Serpanos, University of Patras, Greece

Marten van Sinderen, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Mikhail Smirnov, Fraunhofer FOKUS, Germany

Burkhard Stiller,  UniBw Munich, Germany and ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Christian Tschudin, University of Basel, Switzerland

Rolland Vida, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Gennady Yanovsky, St. Petersburg State University of Telecommunications, Russia


More information:

Information about the hotels and accommodation in Tampere and Hervanta, tourist information about Finland and Tampere, registration fee and registration form, etc will soon appear on the web site: