TLT-5606 Spread Spectrum Techniques, Spring 2011

Lecturers
Toni Huovinen, Simona Lohan, Danai Skourmetou and Zahidul Bhuyian
Excercises
Toni Huovinen, Simona Lohan, Danai Skourmetou and Zahidul Bhuyian
Goals
The course focuses on the principles and theory of spread spectrum (SS) communications with emphasis on CDMA and satellite positioning. Issues to be covered include, e.g., principles of SS techniques, spreading codes, code acquisition, code tracking and performance analysis of single- and multi-user detection in various channel conditions.
Format
Lectures, calculus and Matlab exercises, and an optional computer simulation project.
Project
In an optional Matlab project work, students carry out an individual simulation study of a system or an algorithm related to the lectures. Topics and detailed instructions.
Timetable
Lectures are on Thursdays, 14-16, starting January 13th, 2011, in classrooms TC221. Calculus exercises are on Tuesdays, 14-16, starting January 25th, in TC221. Detailed timetable below.
Credits
5 cp by passing the final examination
7 cp by passing the examination AND completing a successful computer simulation project
Literature
The course will be based mostly on the following books:
Bulletin Board

Topics and Timetable

  1. Theory of spread spectrum tecniques
  2. Aplication 1 - WCDMA and HSPA evelution
  3. Aplication 2 - Satellite positioning

Links to lecture slides will be added below as the course proceeds.

1. Thu 13.1.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 1 Introduction and Fundamentals (by Toni)
Tue 18.1.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 2 Pseudorandom sequences (by Toni)
Tue 25.1.2011, 14-16, TC221 Calculus Exercise 1 (by Toni)
Thu 27.1.2011, 14-16, TC221 Matlab Exercise 1 (by Toni)
Thu 3.2.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 3 Code acquisition and tracking 1 - Basics (by Toni)
Tue 8.2.2011, 14-16, TC221 Calculus Exercise 2 (by Toni) Solutions to 1st and 2nd questions.
Thu 10.2.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 4 Single-user detection (by Toni)
Tue 15.2.2011, 14-16, TC221 Calculus Exercise 3 (by Toni)
Thu 17.2.2011, 14-16, TC221 Matlab Exercise 2 (by Toni)
Thu 24.2.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 5 Optimum multi-user detection (by Toni)
Thu 3.3.2011 No teaching (Exam week)
Tue 8.3.2011, 14-16, TC221 Calculus Exercise 4 (by Toni)
Thu 10.3.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 6 Suboptimum multi-user detection (by Toni)
Tue 15.3.2011, 14-16, TC221 Calculus Exercise 5 (by Toni)
Thu 17.3.2011, 14-16, TC221 Matlab Exercise 3 (by Toni)
2. Thu 24.3.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 7 Wrap-up of the first part (by Toni)
Thu 31.3.2011, 14-18, TC221 Lecture 8 WCDMA/HSPA (Guest lecturer, Kari Aho, Magister Solutions)
3. Thu 7.4.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 9 Code acquisition and tracking 2 - Advanced positioning oriented strategies (by Zahid)
Tue 12.4.2011, 14-16, TC221 Matlab Exercise 4 (by Zahid)
Thu 14.4.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 10 Satellite positioning 1 (by Danai)
Tue 19.4.2011, 14-16, TC221 Matlab Exercise 5 (by Zahid)
Thu 21.4.2011 No teaching (Easter break)
Thu 28.4.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 11 Satellite positioning 2 (by Simona)
Tue 3.5.2011, 14-16, TC221 Matlab Exercise 6 (by Simona)
Thu 5.5.2011, 14-16, TC221 Lecture 12 Satellite positioning 3 (by Simona)


Last updated: 3.5.2011 11:17:17, Toni Huovinen