System on Chip Seminar

Francky Catthoor

Yves Masse

Francky Catthoor received the engineering degree and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium in 1982 and 1987 respectively. From September 1983 till June 1987 he has been a researcher in the area of VLSI design methodologies for Digital Signal Processing, with Prof. Hugo De Man and Prof. Joos Vandewalle as Ph.D. thesis advisors. Since 1987, he has headed several research domains in the area of high-level and system synthesis techniques and architectural methodologies, all within the Design Technology for Integrated Information and Telecom Systems (DESICS - formerly VSDM) division at the Inter-university Micro-Electronics Center (IMEC), Heverlee, Belgium. He is assistant professor at the EE department of the K.U.Leuven since 1989, and full professor (part-time) since 2000.

His current research activities belong to the field of architecture design methods and system-level exploration for power and area, mainly oriented towards memory management and global data transfer optimization. The major target application domains are real-time signal and data processing algorithms in image, video and end-user telecom applications, and data-structure-dominated modules in telecom networks. Both customized architectures and programmable (parallel) multimedia processors are targeted. In 1986 he received the Young Scientist Award from the Marconi International Fellowship Council. He was an associate editor for the "IEEE Transactions on VLSI Systems" for the period 1995/1998. Since 1999 he is an associate editor or the "IEEE Transactions on Multi-Media" and since 1996 an editor for Kluwer's "Journal of VLSI Signal Processing". Begin 1997 he became member of the steering board for the VLSI Technical Committee of the IEEE Circuits & Systems Society and since 1999 he also serves on the IEEE Trans. on VLSI Systems steering board. He was the program chair of the 1997 IEEE Intnl. Symposium on System Synthesis (ISSS) and the general chair for the 1998 ISSS. He will also be program chair of the 2001 IEEE Signal Processing Systems (SIPS) conference.

  SoC 1999

  SoC 2000

  SoC 2001

    - registration